New records set as Uefa releases Fans’ Team of the Year 2017

0 33

Union of European Football Association (UEFA) on Thursday released Champions League fans’ team of the year 2017. The complete team of eleven players is however dominated by players from Spanish La Liga but also includes a Manchester City player, Kevin Debruyne,who becomes the first player in the club’s history to feature in such a team.

According to Uefa, 8.8 million votes were cast in the process to determine who deserves to be on the list across the world’s major football leagues. Six out of 11 players in the team are from La Liga,with Messi being the only Barcelona player to make it to the list. Reigning champions Real Madrid scooped five slots,commandeered by their captain Sergio Ramos.

Ex-Barcelona right-back Dani Alves took the slot for PSG while legendary goal keeper Gianluigi Buffon was voted fans’ goalkeeper of the year 2017.

Chelsea’s talisman Eden Hazard joins his fellow countryman Kevin Debruyne represent England in the team as the two continue to entertain world football with their exceptional talents at their respective clubs.

Uefa reports an increase in number of voters,seemingly pulling an interest to the excitement the game brings across the world.

The Uefa Fans’ Team of the Year 2017. IMAGE: COURTESY

“A grand total of 8,779,639 million votes were cast by supporters around the world, an increase of over 1.6 million on the previous year’s tally of 7.15 million. Players from the Spanish league dominated the final XI, with a total of six making the team,” Uefa posted.

Adding that, “There was a record 12th appearance for Cristiano Ronaldo, with the Portuguese ace one of five players to be chosen from European champions Real Madrid CF. His team-mate Sergio Ramos received the most votes with 588,315.”

But it was also the first time for the two Premier League representatives,Eden Hazard and Kevin Debruyne,who also became the first Belgians to be voted in the coveted Champions League team of the year.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.