Omar Sahib confirmed to be out of this year’s national autocross championship

  • The fastest driver Omar Sahib is going to take a break due to personal reasons
  • The 2017 champion, Rehan Shah has just returned from in Sahib’s Championship-winning Subaru GC8
Omar Sahib

The defending champion Omar Sahib hopes to come back next season with his back-to-back 4WD turbo champion. The fastest driver is taking a break due to his personal reasons which he did not disclose.

“I am taking a break from autocross due to personal reasons. I will be racing all the four events in the Hill-Climb series which is on the KMSF calendar this season,” he said.

Consequently, the 2017 champion Rehan Shah is ready to take part in this year’s championship after completing his one-year sabbatical.

  Raul Bravo denies ordering assassination of former Olympiakos teammate Darko Kovacevic

“I am happy with the result after coming from a long sabbatical. I decided to use Sahib’s GC8 as my N10 car had ECU issues. I will be doing the whole season this year and we shall probably be together with my nephew Sahib next year. I will revamp my car and use it on the next race,” he said.

“The track was muddy and slippery and took the car everywhere. It was like fighting with the car. The track dried out in the afternoon session and the conditions improved quite a bit,” Rehan said.


Claim 100% Welcome Bonus up to 15 000 KSH!


“We want to keep the 4WD Turbo title in Ray Racing so hopefully, I can fill the void left behind by Sahib,” 

  Athletics Continental Tour to be held in Nairobi for the first time in Africa

In the meantime, the winner of the 2020 KCB National Autocross Championship, Shaz Esmail emerged the winner in the 2WD Turbo Class after recording a cumulative total time of 8.03. 11 minutes.

“I am chuffed with the performance. This is indeed my first win in 10 years and it couldn’t have come at a better time when I am going flat out for the championship,” Shaz remarked.

Shaz also delivered the Fastest Time of the Day after completing the 4th heat within 2.21.70 minutes. The lad beat his teammate and youngster Azaad Manji.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *